Should I Be Drinking Coffee?

By Naveen Sivakumaran

We want to do a lot of stuff; we’re not in great shape. We didn’t get a good night’s sleep. We’re a little depressed. Coffee solves all these problems in one delightful little cup. – Jerry Seinfeld

I’m enjoying some Nescafe Cappuccino (unsweetened) as I write this. Took me just over 20 seconds to prepare. Even the few moments spent making it felt like a ritual – delicious thoughts of  the creamy, lingering taste were rolling in my mind. Who said you have to wait for long to enjoy true goodness?

What was to be a smooth writing session is interrupted at regular intervals as I get lost in the dreamy taste of every sip. (Am I making you jealous yet?)

For me, and other coffee lovers of course, the unmistakable smell and delectable taste is right there among the Top 10 reasons to be alive! Addictive flavour aside, here are my 5 reasons you should drink coffee.

  1. Effective fat burner

Here’s a shocker- caffeine is one of the few natural substances that have proven to help burn fat. Hence it is no surprise that caffeine is found in almost every fat burning supplement!

  1. Helps improve cardiovascular health

Did you know that one or two cups of coffee per day can significantly reduce risk of cardiovascular diseases? A Japanese study of 76,000 participants confirms that one to two cups of coffee daily reduces risk of dying from a cardiovascular disease by as much as 38%!

  1. Increased energy

Coffee drinkers (myself included) swear that coffee increases energy levels and helps one feel less tired. Caffeine, the most commonly consumed psychoactive substance, is the stimulant behind this phenomenon. How many of us perform better, be it at creative or routine work, after a cup of coffee? All of us, I dare say.

  1. Protection from diabetes

According to Harvard researchers, long-term coffee drinkers have a significantly reduced risk of developing type-2 diabetes. Statistics also indicated the risk decreased the more they drank. Just go easy on the sugar though!

  1. Contains essential nutrients

One basic cup of coffee is known to contain important nutrients such as Riboflavin, Pantothenic Acid, Manganese, Potassium, Magnesium and Niacin.

 

There you go – five science-backed reasons to make yourself a cup of coffee right away!

The addictive taste and aroma are reasons enough to make you start drinking coffee. However, I felt the urge to enlighten you on the health benefits and also shush the naysayers. Thus, I went Einstein on you!

Leave a comment